top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara

Little Eco Pillow Shop

My first adulthood coping mechanism - a microbusiness.


My Aunt Beth taught me how to crochet when I was tiny. I would crochet all the time, anything I could think of. I made headbands and scarves and ponchos galore. I even started a nano headband business when I was a young skater for the coaches at my rink. I would embellish them with flowers and names, staying up all night even when I had to be at the rink at the crack of dawn the next morning. I loved the idea that I could literally create anything I wanted with a ball of yarn and a hook.


Fast forward a decade (and some). Come May, 2017. Freshly graduated and ready to take on the world, I jump into a career! Great pay, great benefits, 3 weeks of vacation. Awesome, right?



Adulthood hit me like a ton of bricks.


No longer wanting to be an adult, I rediscovered this childhood passion.


I've always had a creative need in my life. Whether it be school assignments, sporting needs (see Skatin' Sparkly), or pure personal restlessness, I've always had something to get my hands into. Suddenly, I didn't. So I freaked out. I took on a ton of tiny projects just to let the creative juices flow.


Enter: Little Eco Pillow Shop.

I needed something to create. And, honestly, I needed some pillows for the barren couch in my new adult apartment. So I searched my favorite eco-friendly or socially conscious home decor companies for some accent pillows in my budget. I wasn't all that impressed by the options, and that's when I realized... I can make those! So I did. Maybe other people would want some too.


All of my pillows are hand stitched using 100% natural fiber yarn, and embroidered using yarn I've had leftover (that I've lost the labels for...), and stuffed with all natural, organic cotton. I've made some pillows as product examples, but the custom orders are really what I'm most busy with. People are so funny! Here are some examples of custom orders thus far.


Strawberry Frosted. With Sprinkles.


Guess where these pillows went...... You're right. Hawaii.


These little guys went to a great home with two dogs and two kids. I guess the kids already had pillows.

This was my favorite custom order to date, pink elephants for a baby shower!


And here are some other ones I made just for fun.





Please check out my Etsy shop for more!


https://www.etsy.com/shop/LittleEcoPillowShop

Do you need a little eco pillow?

17 views0 comments
bottom of page